Skip to content

Hope

July 31, 2007

I’ve been looking at the topic of what an evangelist is for a very simple reason. I feel that it is what God has called me to do.

I have struggled with the call of God on my life for years. Part of that is because I spent 4 years in an organization that strongly taught that women are basically dirt. Not only does not use them to do anything, they are easily deceived and prone to sin. They need men around just so they can stay saved. One day soon I will post one of their teachings on women and give them full credit for their authorship. It’s a pdf from their mag, so it’s not like they can deny it.

Part of my struggle comes from the fact that I’m divorced. How could God forgive me? How could God ever use me? How can their be a call of God on my life?

The truth is that I was separated for 5 years and have been divorced for 2. I have no interest in trying that experiment again. I have had one dinner date in that 7 year period of time. I doubt I will even do that again. I’m just that not interested.

The interesting thing is that I have grown closer to the Lord and seen Him do more stuff in and through my life these past 7 years than I have at any other time in my life. The Lord has tremendously encouraged me to chase after Him and chase after the dream He’s given me. So here I am.

The person who has been the most encouraging in this process has been my pastor. He and his wife have tremendously ministered to me the last few years, and they have helped me to find a great deal of healing in my life. He has encouraged me to pursue this. He has helped me to chase down the Greek in the passages that have caused me to stop and say, “Am I really hearing God? How does what I hear fit into this or that passage?” The Greek is amazingly clear about these things. Hopefully, I will pin him down one day soon and get him to help me pull this together and put out a coherent teaching on the subject of divorce.

God is in the business of taking broken lives and making them whole again. He doesn’t just bring wholeness, but purpose and destiny. The people of God are a people of destiny. One thing I am finding out about the Lord is that if you are pursuing Him, it is a hard thing to escape from the destiny He has for you.

You can do things to disqualify you from specific offices, from specific ministry. God is really serious about holiness and sanctification. He will land on you hard about rebellion and blatant, continued sin. Don’t hear me say that it’s okay to be a whoremonger as a Christian because God will make it all better. He won’t. Judgment really, really sucks.

But if you are trying to chase Him and you are fighting against sin in your life, He will help you. The one thing He requires of you is humility. You have to take responsibility for your actions and you have to ask for help. You have to become transparent with people you trust.

If you have done your best to make a marriage work and, for whatever reason, it doesn’t, your life in Jesus isn’t over. The wonderful thing about the Lord is that He knows the real issues, not the ones you and your spouse fight over. He knows your heart, He knows their heart and He knows the truth about the situation. We see from our perspective, but He sees the entire picture.

Divorce isn’t the unforgivable sin.

There is forgiveness for the things you did wrong, for the things on your side that contributed to the mess. And there’s healing. And there is the fact that God loves you with an everlasting love.

One Comment leave one →
  1. naboth permalink
    July 31, 2007 11:55 am

    An excellent article and a great testimony of God’s grace and true character. I pray you enter into all God has for you.

    God bless you…naboth675

Leave a Reply

