Skip to content

Faith in Whom?

September 12, 2007

I came across this quote on another blog:

I just read about a conference called “Growing in the Supernatural” sponsored by Patricia King. There are 20 people advertized who will be speaking. I know that half of them operate ( in ignorance) in shaministic practices and with spirits of divination and sorcery. I guarantee that people who attend will have a sense of euphoria and a visitation but it will not be from Almighty God.

The ignorance and arrogance shown in this statement amazes me.  I was at this conference.  The speakers were Patricia King, Jim Goll, Todd Bentley, Stacey Campbell, Bob Jones, Joshua Mills and a few others.  This was where I heard Patrica King preach on the concept of a Love War. 

Todd Bentley, in case some of you are unaware, has been used of the Lord of late to lead close to a million people, mainly Muslims, into a relationship with Jesus.  Cancers have literally been falling off their bodies.  It’s not real hard to lead someone to Jesus after He heals them of a deadly disease.  Scripture clearly teaches that a house divided against itself cannot stand.  Satan does not lead people to Jesus.  Muslims do not tend to convert in countries were conversion is a crime unless they encountered something powerful.

Bill Johnson put it really clearly.  Good comes from God, bad comes from the devil.  It’s not real hard to figure that one out.  When people are getting healed in the name of Jesus (Todd told a story of a man in his church in Canada who God gave a new lung to after he had had it removed due to cancer and Todd has the medical reports to prove it), that’s God.  That’s not a shamanistic practice. 

I received ministry at this conference from some of Patricia’s team.  One of team members gave me a synopsis of every prophetic word I have received over my life in 25 years.  This was in response to a question I had asked of the Lord.  I don’t know about you, but in my life the devil does not have access to my private relationship with Jesus.  In that secret place where I meet Jesus, Satan isn’t hanging around and does not know what I discuss with the Lord there.

I came across a post Rick Joyner did in response to the uproar over his joining the Order St. John.  He said that he was glad of the controversy, because it caused paranoid Christians to avoid him.  He did not have time in his life to deal with them.  I find that I agree with him. 

I feel sad for the paranoid doctrine police who spend their time finding evil in everything rather than learning to walk with Jesus in what He is doing.  I recently had a dream where Jesus came to me and brought me out of a dark cavern that I had been in for a long time.  He walked me into the light and I was terrified.  I had walked in this dark place for so long, I had become used to darkness and feared the light.  The light made me feel exposed and vulnerable, leaving me open to the attack of whatever was around.  And the Lord put His arm around me and walked with me as I learned to function in the light.  He told me that as long as He was with me and had me in His arms, nothing could touch me. 

Joshua Mills made a statement that I totally agree with.  He said, “I don’t believe in demons, I believe in Jesus.”  And that is so true.  Our faith, trust and belief cannot be in the power of the evil one to deceive us.  Our faith, hope and trust have to be in Jesus and His ability to keep us.  The word of God says that no one can take us out of His hand.  I am becoming convinced that there truly is nothing that the enemy has that can touch me as I walk in unbroken fellowship with Jesus. 

We  need to stop having faith in the devil and start believing in Jesus.   If everything you see about every ministry is negative, it’s not hard to see what your faith is in and who you believe in.  If everyone is wrong except you and your group, that should tell you something. 

James 3:17 says:

But the wisdom that is from above is first pure, then peaceable, gentle, willing to yield, full of mercy and good fruits, without partiality and without hypocrisy.

The wisdom of God, like everything that truly comes from the Father, shows the fruit of the Spirit.  Any discernment that is offered from any source that does not contain that element, that does not conform to the character of Christ, is not from God.  Remember, Jesus appointed a thief to be His treasurer.  I doubt He did that because He was clueless as to Judas’ true character.  His heart was redemptive, even toward Judas. 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. sarah gardiner permalink
    September 12, 2007 2:34 pm

    wow
    I love everything you have said.

  2. rahabsplace permalink*
    September 12, 2007 3:42 pm

    Thanks for your kind comment, Sarah.

  3. September 16, 2007 8:33 pm

    Again, I’m glad someone with integrity is standing up for Patricia. The anointing she has from God is incredible. The gift of tongues was released in me just by watching one of her videos! Since then, my mother, her friend, a new lady at work, and one of my friends have come to Jesus. I could be wrong, but I think that would be considered good fruit!

    Again the anointing Patricia has is incredible. I’d be very careful speaking out against that. Could she be wrong? Anything is possible. It’s not likely at all, but anything is possible. However, until the Lord reveals that (and He would), maybe we should just have some child-like faith.

  4. Kathrynn permalink
    September 23, 2007 8:43 am

    I love what Jesus said in John 7:17 “If any man desires to do His will (God’s pleasure), he will know (have the needed illumination to recognize, and can tell for himself) wheter the teaching is from God or wheer I am speaking from Myself and of My own accord and on My own authority. Amplified.
    This verse has brought me great comfort when dealing with all that’s out there. The Lord has promised that “Hissheep hear His voice.”

  5. October 21, 2007 7:46 pm

    Once you have a face to face experience with the anointing of God, it’s hard to convince you otherwise. In the pit of your soul you know it was “Him”, because only God can touch those deepest parts of you. There are some places even the enemy of our souls can never access, by the sheer fact that he is not our Creator, and does not hold the “key”. People naturally fear what they don’t understand. Ultimately we should look at the fruit coming from a person’s life, and Patricia King (and company mentioned) seem to have an abundance!

    Blessings,
    Emanna

Leave a Reply

