Skip to content

The Glory School and the Holy Spirit

March 27, 2008

A while back I posted about how I was changed by going through Patricia King’s Glory School. Well, I found it so foundational for me that I decided to take the home group that I lead through it via CD. That group soon became two. Every week that we have met, I have had a new person come into the group.

I was talking to James, one of the brothers going through this with me. He’s been saved longer than I have and that is nearly forever. One of the college kids used to tell me, “The earth cooled, the dinosaurs died and then came Rahab.” Anyway, James and I were discussing how we wish we had been taken through something this comprehensive when we were young Christians instead of having to learn it all the hard way and in pieces.

One of my young padawans told me he has learned more in the last two months than he had in the last five years.

One of the really good studies in this series is the study on the person and ministry of the Holy Spirit. We are going through and looking at all the scriptures pertaining to the Holy Spirit in the New Testament that Patricia gives. There are 70 of them. We have all had to repent of our thoughts and attitude toward the Holy Spirit.

The big thing that we got nailed for is our attitude toward what is called “the Anointing”. Jesus is called The Christ, which means “the anointed one.” He was anointed at His baptism by the Holy Spirit. The Anointing isn’t a thing or a power to be attained, the Anointing is the Holy Spirit. It isn’t a thing, it’s a person. The Anointing isn’t a badge to earn, He’s a person to have relationship with.

What broke my heart about that is that I have been in many churches were I was valued for what I did, not who I was. I realized that I had been doing that to the Holy Spirit. I wanted what He gave without wanting to have relationship with Him. I had never been taught that I could. When it dawned on me that I was doing to Him what had been done to me, I cried. I felt so bad about it. But the Holy Spirit is so awesome. He loves me so much and is so willing to forgive such stupidity on my part.

So now I am exploring a whole new dimension in my relationship with God. The Holy Spirit is an amazing person and relationship with Him is such an intense, deep thing. That relationship is something I would encourage everyone to develop.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Teresa permalink
    April 5, 2008 4:09 am

    I would love to know what course you used in your home. My heart longs for others to experience a relationship with the Holy Spirit because I realize that is what many are missing. Thank you for sharing this wonderful very essential part of your testimony regarding the One who sticks closer to us than a brother.

  2. Sandra Martin permalink
    April 21, 2008 2:40 pm

    Gosh, it took years to rid myself of this mindset of trying to prove myself to God. I think it was last year, I finally came to a point of resting in Him, and stop judging Him by human standards. He is far more gracious to us in our failings and weaknesses than we can ever be to ourselves or others in our frail humanity.

Leave a Reply

