Skip to content

Money Makes the Church Go Around

April 9, 2008

I don’t know about you, but I am really struggling with the whole money issue. I understand that we live in a secular society and money is the requirement to function in it. However, the Kingdom of God is supposed to have a bit of a different value system than the world. Unfortunately, I have noticed much of a difference.

I understand that it takes money to keep the lights on and pay the rent. I also understand that God has commanded us to give and to support those who minister. I really don’t have issues with that sort of thing.

My question is at what point does it cease to be ministry and become greed?

One ministry I know charges $50 a head for its conferences. I really do not have a problem with that. You have to pay the utilities and it is a really good thing to give honorariums to your speakers and musicians. Not a problem.

Another ministry I know charges $50 for a 1 to 3 hour session for deliverance/inner healing. I think I have problems with that one, mainly because I have spent countless nights doing deliverance and healing prayer over the last 25 years, gotten next to no sleep and gone to work the next day. It’s just something you do for your friends.

Then there is mentoring, the concept of we will teach you what God has taught us over the years so you don’t have to go through all the pain that we went through. This is a very good thing. I have had fantastic mentors over the years and have learned invaluable lessons from those willing to invest in me.

Now there are ministries who will mentor you – for a price. One will spend 4 days with your senior pastor and associate, pouring into them what they have learned about creating a revival culture – for $500. Then you bring 5 of your leaders out for another 4 days to learn from the various ministries – for another $500. Then you can have an ongoing relationship with them through monthly conference calls – for $250 a year.

I learned the other day that a major Christian media ministry has over $300 million in the bank, yet they are begging for money like clockwork. Then, of course, the senate is investigating a number of ministries for abuses of their tax-exempt status. One has a $49,000 conference table in their corporate office. Is the thing inlayed in gold or what? I think the county tax assessor for that particular ministry stated that the value of just the furnishings in that ministry’s headquarters is valued at $5.5 million.

Your donation dollars at work.

I don’t believe in poverty. That is just as evil as greed. I am just looking for that place of balance in my life. I think AA Allen was the first to really hammer the point that God wants to bless you for His purposes, so that you can invest in the work of the Kingdom, not your own selfishness.

I just know that for me, the trappings of wealth do not appeal.  I don’t want a 10,000 square foot home because I would have to clean the thing.  I don’t have the time to waste walking from the bedroom out the front door of something that big everyday.  I don’t have the time to waste driving in from suburbia to the places I minister.  I have too much to do, and time is too short to waste it by being caught up in the cloying hold of wealth and comfort.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 24, 2008 5:11 pm

    There is a reason for this. In the Charismatic/Pentecostal movement there is a terrible lack of bishops so people have to rent one.

    People are so desperate for fathers they are willing to pay any amount to get what they should be getting.

  2. gloria permalink
    May 11, 2008 5:26 pm

    even registration fees aren’t in the bible. the anointing is to be for free and people are suppossed to give voluntarily not by force as per registration fees. don’t be so deceived by current charismatic tradition.

Leave a Reply

