Skip to content

So I Went to Lakeland…

May 9, 2008

Xtreme Encounters sent me off to Lakeland to go get some and bring it back to Albuquerque. The money came in for this venture in 2 days. Thanks to those of you who hit my donate button and contributed to this. We wanted to send two people, but that did not happen and the group decided that fearless leader needed to go.

I made reservations on Thursday night to be in Lakeland Friday afternoon. I got the last ticket on the flight. When I got to Tampa, I got the last compact rental car on the lot. When I went to the Saturday morning service, I got the last seat in the main auditorium at Ignited Church. Years ago, I got a prophetic word from one of Morningstar’s prophetic teams that God would always make a way for me to do the things he called me to do, and He has done so in all of this.

When I got to Lakeland, I drove straight to Joker Marchant Stadium. I got there at 6 pm. The meeting started at 7 pm. I got a seat in the last section – all the rest were full an hour before the service started. They had about 12,000 people there.

I have seen Todd Bentley a number of times in the past 4 years. When you don’t see someone often, the growth in them is very obvious. Every time I have seen Todd, I have seen an increase not only in the anointing, but in his humility and in the depth of character he exhibits. The change in this young man since I saw him at Patricia King’s Growing in the Supernatural 1 last May is astounding. By the way, Todd shared extensively how he got what he has at that conference. It is the Friday night service and is available at Patricia’s site. He explains very clearly the differences between the faith that every saint has, gifts of healing, gifts of miracles and gifts of faith and other things that take place in his ministry. It is a very good teaching and if you are curious about how to grow into these things, I would encourage you to get it.

Worship was awesome. Roy Fields is an amazing worship leader. He is also FUN! He knows how to help people enter into the presence of God. I have several videos up on my video tab where Roy is leading worship – listen to him and be blessed. His CDs are available on his site. The presence of the Lord was intense. I haven’t felt the Lord in this dimension before.

During the service, I went out an shared with the vendors who were working the food stands in the stadium. I was amazed at how open they were. I just shared the love of Jesus with them and invited them to come and experience Him for themselves. The amazing thing to me was how open the people in Lakeland are to the gospel. I talked to one girl there who has led over 1,000 people to the Lord since April 2. ONE THOUSAND SOULS! If that doesn’t excite you, you need to get saved.

Yes, there were miracles. Yes, people got out of wheelchairs. Yes, it was amazing. The response of the crowd, though, was to the presence of the Lord. The stuff was great, but what was the most awesome was the fact that the Lord was there in such intimacy. He was showing His great love to people by healing their diseases.

Did Todd preach? No, not really. Not in the sense of a sermon with loads and loads of scripture. The thing is that probably 75% of the crowd were ministers of one form or other. We really don’t need more Word poured into us. What we need is empowerment to DO. We need the release of faith and boldness to DO THE WORKS OF JESUS. We know the Word, but we are not seeing the biblical promise of “As I was sent, so send I you” in our lives.

When Todd explained the gospel, however, there was a tremendous response. There have been people saved in every single meeting, I believe. That is something that excites me and something the heresy hunters need to take into consideration. How many people have you seen saved of late in your church? If it is like most churches I have been in the last 10 years, I would respectfully say, “Shut up.” If you are not seeing souls saved in your ministry, then don’t be critical of ministries that are. When you are doing the stuff with RESULTS, then you have the right to say something. If your doctrine is so correct, then you will see results. If you aren’t seeing souls saved, then you don’t have the right stuff.

After ministering for 4 hours, Todd and his team laid hands on every single person in the stadium. There were probably 10,000 or more who stuck around for the anointing service and Todd laid hands on every single one of us. The team lined us up in two lines all the way around the warm-up track. Todd then prayed for every single person and laid hands on them. They had to do this twice to get all the people.

I don’t fall down. I don’t do courtesy drops. I can count the times in 25 years I have hit the ground. When Todd came by and prayed for me, I hit the ground like a ton of bricks. I hit the ground and stayed there. I could not move for some time. I wasn’t real steady when I managed to get to my feet. I called one of the guys in my church and wasn’t real coherent with him. The group thought it was hysterically funny.

The next morning, I went to Ignited Church and heard Denny Cline. Denny is the pastor of the Albany, Oregon, Vineyard. There was a healing outpouring in his church when Todd came there in 1999, I think it was. He has some wisdom in how to walk through this kind of thing without letting it destroy your church. I wanted impartation from him for wisdom for that reason.

I had all kinds of people pray for me because I am so hungry for the presence of the Lord. I had the girl that led the 1,000 people to the Lord pray for me. Todd prayed for me. Denny prayed for me. A girl from England prayed for me. A group of the most amazing teenagers I have ever encountered prayed for me in the concession area of the stadium.

I am not sure what all I got, but I am not the same person who went to Lakeland. If you get the chance, go. It will change your life and it will change your church. I have been praying impartation on my church and they are getting fire.

There’s a lot of crap being said on the internet. The first question I would ask of those who are bashing this is, “What is going on in your ministry or church?” If they aren’t seeing people saved and transformed on a regular basis, completely discount what they say. If they aren’t reproducing the life of Christ in their lives, they have no discernment or foundation to question this. If they do, then consider the objections they have and weigh them against scripture.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. May 9, 2008 11:38 pm

    Thank you for this! I appreciate it; I have read the nay-sayers, and have prayed for wisdom (even although I fully endorse what God is doing in Lakeland, Todd, Patricia – and in me! (haha!)) I have received from the Lord even by watching the clips on the Fresh Fire and Extreme Prophetic sites, but it is soooo refreshing to hear something honest and fair, without being all about ‘this is so not God!’

    Thank you, again, because I had made it a point not to read any more stuff on the Internet about it, because it seriously was tempting me to disown what was happening (can anyone say ‘doctrine of demons?) even although I know better. This was a breath of fresh air!

  2. Grace Cain permalink
    May 11, 2008 1:04 am

    Rock on girl!!! you tell it!

  3. LFuhrken permalink
    May 14, 2008 4:39 pm

    Thanks for the article. We are planning a trip to Lakeland and honestly I don’t know what to think, but to read about the response of the crowd to the presence of the Lord makes me want to go and check this out. I read an article by Todd about talking to an angel named Emma that freaked me out a bit. I guess Bob Jones credited Emma for starting the Kansas City Prophets and asked Todd if he had met her. Todd said no, but within a short time Emma showed up in a meeting. A floating woman angel named Emma? Just when I thought I was pretty free and enjoying the freedom I have found in the Holy Ghost, this honestly weirds me out abit. Any comment? I actually considered canceling our trip until reading your article. I know I need discernment from the Lord, but I do appreciate your testimony.

  4. rahabsplace permalink*
    May 14, 2008 7:08 pm

    There are a couple of references in scripture to female appearing angels.

    Focus on what the Holy Spirit tells you when you go. This revival is all about Jesus and what He is doing in and for His people.

    Todd, Bob Jones and all the guys that play with angels are cool, but don’t get caught up in that. Those are the angels they see. You are really only responsible for dealing with the angels the Lord reveals to you.

  5. Jay permalink
    June 4, 2008 9:04 am

    Please tell us where the female angels are referred to in Scripture.

  6. rahabsplace permalink*
    June 4, 2008 6:30 pm

    Female angels are found in Zechariah 5:9:

    Then I looked up – and there before me were two women, with the wind in their wings! They had wings like those of a stork and they lifted up the basket [containing wickedness] between heaven and earth.

  7. rahabsplace permalink*
    June 4, 2008 6:32 pm

    Wisdom is personified in Proverbs as a woman, and some feel that this personification is in fact an angel. That, however, is debatable.

  8. Al Carlisle permalink
    June 6, 2008 6:23 am

    First of all God is not an ellusive God that He needs to be chased; I find that concept in and of itself completely contrary to Gods word. But by reading your post Gods word plays little part in your spiritual growth and maturity.Your own words betray you,”We really don’t need more Word poured into us. What we need is empowerment to DO.” According to the God it IS the word that impowers us,”Col 3:16 Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly in all wisdom; teaching and admonishing one another in psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, singing with grace in your hearts to the Lord.” ‘Jhn 1:1 In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God.’Act 2:41 Then they that gladly received his word were baptized: and the same day there were added [unto them] about three thousand souls.’
    Of course I could continue showing more scripture, but you would just be offended.
    God chasers is a lot like the Storm chasers I’ve seen on TV. People chasing tornadoes just for the THRILL of of being close to the power of nature. The RUSH when they have found their perfect storm. Very similar to why people ride roller coasters ” for the RUSH.” See the analogy?
    I’ve never needed a Roy Fields to, how did you put it, “help people enter into the presence of God.” As Gods child I have immediate access to His presence through the blood of Jesus. Show me in scripture where this practice is found,” I hit the ground and stayed there. I could not move for some time. I wasn’t real steady when I managed to get to my feet.” Evidently this was equivelent to your finding the “TORNADO”. ” A wicked and adulterous generation seeketh after a sign; and there shall no sign be given unto it, but the sign of the prophet Jonas. And he left them, and departed.” Matt 16:4
    Unfortunately you are representive of those Spiritual Babes, or Carnal Christians, or just plain ole lost folks who are ignorant of Gods word, and are too lazy to study Gods word that false prophets like Bentley thrive on. Well I will pray for you and those like you, as I know this post will be counted as one the “bashers”, but that is OK . The Bible tells us if we find a brother or sister in spiritual trouble we are to correct them in love. I’ve paraphrased, ” Brethren, if a man be overtaken in a fault, ye which are spiritual, restore such an one in the spirit of meekness; considering thyself, lest thou also be tempted.” Gal 6:1

  9. rahabsplace permalink*
    June 6, 2008 9:33 am

    First of all, I am a serious student of the Word of God. I spent 3 years in a Southern Baptist bible college studying theology and scripture. I have read through the word of God about once a year for the entire 25 years I have been saved.

    I have seen people I pray for healed. I have seen people I have prayed for delivered. I have led several hundred people to the Lord. I have helped pioneer 6 churches and am pastoring my first as a planter.

    What I need in my life is what Jesus said in John 14:11-14

    “11 Believe me when I say that I am in the Father and the Father is in me; or at least believe on the evidence of the works themselves. 12 Very truly I tell you, all who have faith in me will do the works I have been doing, and they will do even greater things than these, because I am going to the Father. 13 And I will do whatever you ask in my name, so that the Father may be glorified in the Son. 14 You may ask me for anything in my name, and I will do it.”

    I know the Word. What I don’t know is the power that Paul spoke of in 1 Cor 2:4-5

    “4 My message and my preaching were not with wise and persuasive words, but with a demonstration of the Spirit’s power, 5 so that your faith might not rest on human wisdom, but on God’s power.”

    Your faith, sir, rests entirely in human wisdom. You have no idea what it is to be love sick as the beloved is in the Song of Solomon, so sick that she searches the streets for her Lover who has withdrawn himself from her so that she WILL seek him.

    You obviously have a form of godliness without any power in your life. Yours is the form of godliness that Paul commands us to flee from.

    You know the book, but you don’t know the Lamb.

Trackbacks

  1. Cool Testimony from a Pastor Visiting Lakeland at Revival Blog

Leave a Reply

